Wednesday, 31 July 2013

Blog Design Competiton

Hi Guys!! :)

If any of you have been reading my blog for a while you may notice that my design has changed!! I used to have a plain white design for my blog and I noticed that it was a bit boring. So I decided to change it up but blogger had a meltdown and I lost my design, as much as I tried I could not get it to look like what I previously had and had to resort to one of the basic designs for the meantime.

Here's where you guys come in... I most of you will probably be 10 times more creative than I am so I am asking you if you would like to design the new layout for my blog! I do not have anything specific in mind but if you could design something which you think represents my blog or would just look good on the page.
I am giving you guys a month to do this and if you do come up with something email it to me: kajalganesh17@gmail.com

You will need to enter:
  • A background
  • A colour scheme
  • Fonts 
  • A header
  • Tabs (archive, about, categories, layout, follow me)
  • Basically everything you think a blogger template needs
If I choose your design:
  • I will write a post about you and your design
  • You will be featured in my "layout" tab
  • I will follow you on instagram, blogger, bloglovin, tumblr and subscribe to you on youtube
  • I will send you a personal thank you email
  • Your template will be on my blog 
Some tips: 
  • I don't want it to be too garish/bright
  • I like the current font which is on my blog (sue ellen francisco)
  • Minimal browns and blacks
  • I like floral, polka dots, girly patterns
  • Not shiny 
  • Standard size, not largely zoomed in
 Competition will close on the 31st of August 2013, if you have any further questions please email me: kajalganesh17@gmail.com

Good luck and have fun designing!
Byeee :)

Motivational Month #3

Hi Guys!! :)

I can't believe that July is already over, it has gone so quickly! But it is the end of the month which means it's time for another motivational bit from me....


As people we always want things that we can't have, some people will do whatever they can to get that thing and others will just admire it from afar. We may feel like every force in the world is stopping us from getting it but it just might not be our time. Perhaps the world wants to test you before you get the thing you really want and the longer you wait for it the more satisfying it will be when you finally achieve what you wanted to.

Whatever your "thing" may be you shouldn't dwell on it, wait for it to get to you in good time. If you keep thinking it about it, you will probably become very anxious and your wait will just keep getting longer. Like it or not there is not much you can do to change this and you will just have to be patient and wait.

Take this post in whichever way you want to but I know that I have experienced this long and painful wait and in the end it is more satisfying than you ever thought it would be. Wait for it and I promise you it will be worth it in the end. Great things do take time.

Byeee :)

Saturday, 20 July 2013

Summer Haul!!!

Hi guys!! :)

Yesterday I went shopping!! I went off to Westfield's and seeing as the sales were on I went crazy and brought a few things, so I'm going to share them with you guys....

Firstly I went into Zara, they had an amazing sale on things were reduced for over 70%! I brought a really soft khaki wooly jumper, however when take a picture of it, it looks horrible and doesn't do it any justice so I thought I would leave it out of this post.

Then I found a pair of green wedges which I could not keep my hands off!! They are quite high and I would only wear them if I did not have to do a lot of walking.

The next thing I got was a baggy peach jumper, which will be really nice on a chilly summer day or in spring. I cannot describe its material however you have to be careful because it looks like it could tear really easily. There was also a bright yellow version of this jumper however I decided to go with the safer option.

Just before I went to pay for my items my eye caught a cute denim shirt, I have been wanting one of these for a long time but I couldn't find one which was good enough. In saw this one which has cute stitching on the back and I just couldn't resist!

Then I moved on to a shop which I am in love with at the moment, Bershka! May I say as much as I love Bershka its sales are so messy!! Everything is too cramped together and its really hard to find something you like. However I found this lovely playsuit which I am in love with at the moment!! It is going to be my summer outfit I love it sooo much!!

After that I went into New Look and found a pinky top which will be really cool for summer with a pair of shorts, its quite thin but I love the colour which is why it will great for summer! It was a bargain and I love it!

Now for some beauty products.... Seeing as summer is coming up and no one wants an oily face, I popped into Inglot and brought some blotting papers. These are really good because they don't take off any of your make up but they still get rid of the oil. I have heard good things about these and hope they are as good as everyone says they are.

My sister also brought a new foundation as she thought the Mac one she had looked slightly cakey on her skin and she wanted to try something new. So a few weeks ago she got a sample of the the Estee Lauder double wear foundation. She became obsessed with it and said it was the best foundation she has used so far! It lasts all day (8 hours) unlike regular foundations and you don't even need any powder on top of it because it is matt. This is the first time she has purchased it and I am pretty sure she will be buying it again when it runs out!


 I think this was a very successful shopping trip and I shall see you next week for another blog post!
Byeeeeee :) 

Sunday, 14 July 2013

Happy Birthday Mummy!!!

Hi Guys! :)

So yesterday it was my mummy's birthday, we had a really good day and the weather was gorgeous!! 31 degrees, it was absolutely amazing... I hope the weather stays like this all summer!!!

I had a great day in the morning I woke up exceptionally early to make my mum tea and a nice breakfast, it was really cute and she looked like she really liked it!


Then me and my sister made her lunch but she decided she didn't want it because my dad was going to take her out instead which was quite cute :p When she came back we chilled and had a nice chat and in the evening we went out for a really nice dinner at harvester.

 After that gorgeous dinner, we went on a long family walk all the way around the area we live in, it took an hour but it was really nice because the weather had cooled down and the roads were empty. Eventually when we came back we cut the Baskin&Robins cake I brought for her earlier on and may I say it was FAB!


It was a really nice day and I thought I would share it with you guys, if you've been liking my blog don't forget to follow me to be updated with my latest posts!!
See you soon...

Byeeeeeeee :)

Sunday, 7 July 2013

Motivational Month #2

Hi Guys! :)

Finally the sun has come out in London and may I say I am LOVING it! I can't believe we are already in July, which means it's time for the second motivational month blog post....


I think this is something that we all need to keep in mind, no matter if you're a girl, boy, man or woman. Everyone loves a bit of Disney and it always brings back those magical feelings from when you were young. I think that smiling is one of the greatest things you can do in life, it can make you happy or even make someone else happy. No matter what your feeling a smile may make it a little bit better....

Breathe. You can do it, just breathe, everyone goes through bad times and you WILL get through it eventually. Just remember to breathe because hurting yourself or lashing out at people wont help in fact it may make you more upset/angry. Try to ignore it, breathe and live your life.

Lastly and in my opinion the most important thing, believe in magic. Remember how great you used to feel when you watched those magical Disney movies. If you believe in magic things will always get better. Even if you're having a bad day a fairy godmother will come along, take you to your prince charming, you will get married and live happily ever after......

Byeee :)

Sunday, 30 June 2013

Indian wedding.....

Hi Guys! :)

 First of all let me apologize for not uploading last Sunday. I had a very busy week; most of my week was been taken up by revising for exams coming up *I hate education -_-* and on Sunday I went to my cousins wedding which was a lot of fun!!
I have finally got a break from revision and decided to catch up with blogging :)

My cousins wedding was an indian wedding so we all got dressed up in sari's etc. it was a lot of fun and at the end all of us girls went off for a mini picture taking session ;) Here's what we came up with.....



You can probably tell we are quite mad, playing with sticks that have fallen off trees and all sorts... We had to stop in the end because a creepy old man came to watch us so we thought it would be best to leave!

Hope you enjoyed this type of short blog post where I share some of my snaps with you, see you next week

Byeeeee :)







Sunday, 16 June 2013

Remember the good times...

Hi guys! :)

A couple of months ago I was having a look on tumblr and I came across this cute little jar filled with stars, I then found that they sell these jars in the online etsy store.

Image from tumblr 
Image from etsy website
I decided that I wanted to make my own version of these jars so I decided to look into the whole idea. I found out that some people have the stars simply for decoration but others write wishes or good times they have had on them. I took a liking to the good times idea and started my own good times jar.

If you were wondering what a good times jar is it's a jar filled with stars or notes of any good time you have ever had, when the jar is full you open them all up and remember all those good times. It also helps if you are having a bad day and you open up one of the thoughts and remember that there are more of those coming up in the future. *this is getting very mushy, lets move on :p*



So I went to my local thrift store and brought a nice jar and a cute ribbon, I wanted to tie the perfect bow onto my jar but after trying for 45 minutes to tie a bow I gave up and went for the regular double knotted bow. (which also took me 20 minutes to tie :/)

Some people start their jars in January and open up all the notes at the end of December, but seeing as I started mine in May I thought I would open them all up when the jar is full




To make these stars is a bit fiddly, I asked my sister to teach me how to make them and its easier than it looks, write your message on the inside of the strip and then fold everything towards the writing so the writing doesn't show up on the outside. Have a look at this tutorial, but if you would like me to make a tutorial on making these stars please ask me.


My jar is sitting on my desk with my valentines balloon (which still has not deflated) and the strips have all been cut out so I can quickly make one and pop it into my jar whenever I have a good time. If you start your own good times jar, send me a picture of it on instagram (@kajalganesh) or on your blog. 
*phew that was a long one*

Byeeeeee :)

Saturday, 8 June 2013

Motivational Month #1

Hi guys! :)

I have been inspired by Sprinkle of Glitter's  Motivational Mondays to start my own series of motivational months, this is where I will be talking about something that I feel has been motivating me every month. I don't expect a lot of people to read this, but if one person connects to at least one post in this series I shall think I have done well....


One of the things I have recently overcome is my negative mind and I slowly started to see a change for the better in my life. This is no exaggeration, I used to have a negative outlook on everything which made me really sad and angry all the time. When you let these thoughts go people around you also start to like you and want to talk to you, you are less isolated and have an open mind about things.

Think about if someone annoyed you at school, at work or at home you begin to hate them and distance yourself from them. With a negative attitude this is what happens, you start to get annoyed with every little thing they do and say. However with a positive attitude you see that everyone makes mistakes and says annoying things and that you wouldn't want others hating you for your mistakes.

What I'm trying to say is that this quote is really precise and I only noticed it's effect after I lost my negative mind, you have the power to control your life and the situations you are put into. Leave behind the negative people, even if they are your friends, they are having a negative impact on your life. Your life WILL start to get better even the littlest bit. There are times that are just complete rubbish your whole life cannot be perfect, but you will be able to think about the good times you are going to have in the future and change your life for the better!

Lets take baby steps and start with having a positive outlook on the upcoming week, if you liked this type post or have any positive things in your life at the moment leave them in the comments I would love to hear them!

Just keep swimming..... 
Byeeeeee :) 

Sunday, 2 June 2013

A week in photos - Half Term

Hi guys!

So I know last week I said I would be posting every Sunday, but I was busy having a perfect day.... (blog post about this soon)

This past week has flown by! I just wish we had a longer holiday, especially when the weather in London is starting to get good!! So here are some snaps of my week....

It all started off last Sunday when I took a trip to B&Q, I thought I'd have a bit of fun by climbing into a locked children's shed and scaring some passing people (oops) // Then I got the greatest achievement of a lifetime my new highscore on the game "dots" which has basically taken over my life // Most of my week was spent revising for my upcoming exams :( // Me, cheeky selfie after work :p // Nemo and Dory and the Central London Disney store // Feeling nostalgic watching reruns of Hannah Montana // Spent the day with my abby // On the same day Costa having a sexy hot chocolate ;)

See you next Sunday....... (maybe) ;)

Sunday, 19 May 2013

Brownie in a mug!

Hi guys!

Seeing as my blog is called "Brownies, Braids and Beyond" I think it's about time to do a brownie post!

WARNING: This stuff is RICH and really unhealthy!!! But who cares about healthy when it's sooo delicious!
I was introduced to this by a friend I knew I had to make it!

This recipe is quick easy and yummy so allow me to show you how to make it....


You will need:
  • 1/4 cup of sugar 
  • 1/4 cup of flour
  • 2 tbsp of cocoa 
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • 4 tbsp of water
  • A pinch of salt
  • Ice cream (optional but advised)
  1. Mix all of the dry ingredients in the mug
  2. Add the oil and water
  3. Mix until it has a thick runny consistency 
  4. Put it into the microwave and cook for 1 min 30 secs, the centre should be slightly molten 
  5. Add your blob off ice cream and it's ready to eat!! 
If you have any yummy recipes then do share please!! I shall try to upload more regularly every Sunday so keep an eye out for next the next post!!

Byeeeeee :-)

Friday, 10 May 2013

Top 10 YouTubers!

Hi guys!

I thought it was time for me to share something will you all that I love a lot!!.... YouTube! I am have recently become OBSESSED in watching youtubers, I find them really fun to watch so I thought I would give you a little list of my top 10 youtubers!



1.
Marcus Butler






Marcus is my favorite youtuber that I have ever watched! He is so funny, sexy and cool and he does a riveting impression of a girl :p I think you should all go and subscribe to his channel and watch all of his videos!! http://www.youtube.com/user/MarcusButlerTV

2.
Dan Howell AKA danisnotonfire
Danisnotonfire is a hilarious youtuber! His videos are so funny and he has different types of videos that he makes all the time! Scarily he has a lot of women's clothing that he likes to dress in but they make me laugh so I don't mind! Go and subscribe to Dan.... http://www.youtube.com/user/danisnotonfire

3.
The Janoskians! James Yammouni, Beau Brooks, Jai Brooks, Luke Brooks and Daniel Sahyounie
If you don't know who these guys are you're missing out! These are the funniest guys on youtube, they are from Australia and have become so famous they now travel all over the world! They mostly make prank videos but they are never afraid to do anything! I love these guys you definitely need to see them! http://www.youtube.com/user/Janoskians

4.
Phil Lester AKA Amazingphil
Even though he looks slightly scary in that picture, Phil is a really funny guy he does make crazy videos about his weird childhood and creepy things that happen to him, but its very entertaining! He always has his trusty lion at the back of every video and even gives him funny things to say! Go and check out his channel! http://www.youtube.com/user/AmazingPhil
 
 5.
Jack and Finn Harries AKA Jacksgap

 Jacksgap are a cute youtube channel that make great videos, and now that Jack has brought Finn onto his channel its even better! ;) #FinnFinnTheBetterTwin! They do cool videos and have a great theme song! Go watch all of their videos!! http://www.youtube.com/user/JacksGap

 6.
Zoe Sugg AKA Zoella
I'm sure you will all agree with me Zoella is beautiful! I know a a lot of girls look up to her and want to look like her! Her videos are great she has a mix of lifestyle and beauty videos so you don't get bored of her talking about makeup all the time! You should watch her videos she is amazing! http://www.youtube.com/user/zoella280390

7.
Caspar Lee AKA dicasp
I have only recently started watching Caspar's videos but I really like them! He is a cute, funny guy and his videos are always entertaining! He has recently moved to London from South Africa and I must say I love his channel! Remember to go to his channel and subscribe! http://www.youtube.com/user/dicasp

8.
Louise Watson AKA Sprinkle Of Glitter
No that little cutie does not have a youtube channel! (I wish she did) I am talking about her mummy Louise, she is Zoella's best friend and she makes beauty and lifestyle videos! She has a great a sense of humor and I think she is very funny! Go to her channel and subscribe! http://www.youtube.com/user/Sprinkleofglitter

9.
Alfie Deyes AKA Pointlessblog
This guy is really cool, he is my favorite youtuber Marcus' best friend #Malfie and he always makes great videos! He is obsessed with one direction and never fails to talk about them! His videos are great he always has a lot of jokes which make me laugh and he is a regular uploader so go check out his channel! http://www.youtube.com/user/PointlessBlog

10.
Sam Pepper
Last but not least Sam Pepper! I have to admit I have not seen all of this guys videos. But the ones I have seen are hilarious! He is such a joker and never fails to crack a joke! He was also on Big Brother, he makes great videos with lots of jokes to make you laugh and want to watch more! Go subscribe... www.youtube.com/user/OFFICIALsampepper

So that's all my favorite youtubers wrapped up in a little blog post!If you like my blog, show everyone you know, even your dogs!! Look out for more posts soon!!!
Byeeeeee :)